Skip to main content

The Salary Of International Cricket Teams’ Captains Revealed

The gentleman’s sport, cricket, has never really managed to gain the same international glory of football or other team sports. Cricket has become faster, more exciting for the young crowd, and also became one of the highest paying sports in the world. The cricketers have enormous opportunities to earn well from the international and league tournaments, as well as from their sponsors. 

Here is the list of cricket captains of various countries and the amount that they take home as salary:

1. Virat Kohli – ₹58.3 lakh per month

The richest cricket board in the world, BCCI pays the Indian skipper ₹7Cr per annum.

2. Graeme Cremer – ₹4.9 lakh per month

The Zimbabwean captain takes home ₹58.9 lakh per annum which comes to nearly ₹4.9 lakh per month.

3. Sarfraz Ahmed – ₹5 lakh per month

The Pakistan Cricket Board pays ₹5 lakh per month to the skipper of their team.

4. Jason Holder – ₹15.49 lakh per month

Even if the West Indian cricket is facing a lot of difficulties nowadays, the West Indian cricket board pays the skipper ₹15.49 lakh/month.

5. Dinesh Chandimal & Angelo Mathews – ₹18.2 lakh per month

The Sri Lankan cricket board pays their test team captain with a sum of ₹18.2 lakh per month, whereas the skipper of ODI and T20i format, Angelo Mathews is also receiving the same salary every month.

6. Kane Williamson – ₹28.5 lakh per month

The captain of New Zealand team Kane Williamson gets Rs 3.42 crore (500,000 USD) per annum from New Zealand cricket board which comes out to ₹28.5 lakh per month.

7. Tim Paine – ₹57 lakh per month

Tim Paine, the skipper of Australian cricket team is getting paid ₹6.85 crore per annum. 

8. Faf du Plessis – ₹25.1 lakh per month

The South African captain gets paid ₹3.01 crore per annum, which means he earns ₹25.1 lakh every month.

9. Joe Root & Eoin Morgan – ₹67.8 Lakh per month

The England cricket teams' test format captain Joe Root and  Eoin, the captain for ODI and T20i formats get equal amount of ₹8.13 crore per annum each which is pretty high in comparison to captains of other teams.